Barnwell’s Notes Publishing maintains the catalog of and administers the rights to the compositions of Dr. Ysaye M. Barnwell.  Barnwell’s Notes Publishing is a member of BMI, Westbury Music (London), Harry Fox Agency, and Music Publishers Association.  Barnwell’s Notes Publishing is affiliated with the following publishers: The Musical Source, Mark Foster.


A collaborative work of Sweet Honey In The Rock® (Barnwell, Casel, Kahil, Maillard, Robinson) commissioned by Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater

Sections by Y. M. Barnwell  © 2008 include:

  • Rite Of Passage
  • Let’s Talk About Hair
  • Let’s Talk About Clothes
  • Say “No”
  • Good and Evil
  • Say “Yes”
  • Go In Grace

A collaborative work of Sweet Honey in the Rock® (Barnwell, Casel, Kahlil, Maillard, Reagon)

Selections by Y.M. Barnwell  ©  include:

  • Suddenly - SSAATTB

A collaborative work of Sweet Honey In The Rock® (Barnwell, Burton-Batson,  Casel, Kahlil, Maillard, Robinson)

Sections by Y.M. Barnwell
©2006 include:

  • Indaba: Prayer -  SSAAA
  • Indaba: We believe in You  - SSAAA with SATB and percussion

A musical setting of poem by Y.M. Barnwell and Jackie Rago  for Women’s Chorus with percussion and quatro (Poems set by Jackie are sung in Spanish)

Sections by Y.M. Barnwell  ©1999 include:

  • I am Praying (words adapted from poem by Anne Parker)
  • Take Heart  (words by Elayne Clift)
  • Peace be on You (section A) words by Anwar Fazal